Not in this building, not on this day.

On February 2nd, I started a new job in Utica New York. The position is at the department of motor vehicles in the state building.
The building itself is a good forty year old and has several state agencies and at least one elected official in it.
It is also designed in the same way as the Twin Towers were, with the elevators in the center of it, and our offices are on the fifteenth floor. The view of downtown Utica and southern Utica are amazing on a clear day. Because of the design of the building is the reason why I cannot be there on Friday.
I can’t do it. It’s too upsetting to be in that building on the anniversary of that Beautiful Tuesday Morning. It’s been fourteen years and for some of us it will always be a painful day. As much as I have started a new journey back in Central New York, there will always be that deep seated feeling that I should be in Brooklyn. There isn’t the kind of hustle and bustle there is in New York City, there isn’t the same level of excitement here as in New York City either.
Yet, what I’ve found is that there isn’t really much here at all. I miss the drive and energy of New York City, the all night places to eat and that magnificent skyline.
Which brings me back to why I won’t be working on Friday; that amazing skyline filled with incredible buildings was irreparably damage beyond words on a Beautiful Tuesday Morning, and as much as I knew where I was working, and knew what the design of the building was like, I could not bring myself to be working on Friday September 11, 2015.
I requested the day off in early April and it was approved within hours.
I can’t be there.
Not in this building, not on that day.

Peace,

Michael

About Leprechuan

Professional Leprechuan and taste tester of Guinness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment