While you were out. . .

US Airways Flight 1549

US Airways Flight 1549

The afternoon of Thursday, January 15th was an amazing. If you’re gonna land a plane in the drink, that’s the best way to do it. Using the Hudson as a runway, that was just simply amazing. I was going to mention it in my Saturday blog.
But, I wasn’t feeling well, and it just snowballed from there. At my worst, I could barely move myself without immense pain and difficulty, at my best I was able to walk a little with a lot of back pain.
I’m feeling better now; I wanted to wait until I could sit in front of the computer for more than twenty minutes without being in pain.
So the last ten days have been filled with hope, change, and a lot of noise from the streets.
The noise from police and fire trucks sirens, why the increase in the amount of police and fire department activity is beyond me. The local cops and firefighters have been going up and down the streets in the middle of the night for no apparent reason and I can’t find what’s going on from our local paper.
Almost 2 million people watched a man take the oath of office on Tuesday, sadly, I wasn’t there. I just hope they had enough port-a-potties. If I heard the math right, there was one port-a-potties for ever 133 people. I guess that’s like being at Woodstock. I like to think of it as Obama-nation!
I enjoyed the speech, which I thought was good, and I was pleasantly surprised that Senator Kennedy was able to attend. After seeing the change of administration take place, I still firmly believe that, good or bad, the system of government that we have is the best in the world. I hope that whatever change President Obama brings will spark a rebuilding in this country. I don’t envy the job he now has. Never in my wildest dreams did I though that Microsoft of all companies would be letting people go. Home Depot will now be cutting 7,000 people
Once you get past the pomp and circumstance of the inauguration, there’s a lot of work that has to be done, from the economy, which is in an absolute mess, to homes that are being foreclosed on. In addition, there are almost whole towns being thrown out of work by foreign owned companies like what DHL is doing in Ohio.
Shutting down Guantanamo Bay is a start, and given a year to figure out where to put the extremist is a smart move, I know a Super Max prison they can stay at. I call it my ex’s place. Trust me, it’s like a prison.
The most positive change that President Obama will make involves finally give me back 354 steps, which is the number of step from the pedestal to the crown of the Statue of Liberty.
President Obama will announce shortly that the complete re-opening of Lady with the Lamp.
When you get to New York City, she’ll be green with envy when you arrive.
New York has a new junior senator. It isn’t me. What little I know of her, it seems like she will do her beat to work for the people of New York.
Trust me, as New York City goes, so does the country.
The one item I will miss most about the Bush administration?
The slew of “Great Moment in Presidential Speeches” that appeared on “Late Night with David Letterman” for almost 3 years. Making fun of W. was almost too easy.
Way too easy.

Yes, I am feeling better.
Thanks for asking.

About Leprechuan

Professional Leprechuan and taste tester of Guinness.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Economy, George W. Bush, Guantanamo Bay, Inauguration, New York City, Politics, Rant, Statue of Liberty. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to While you were out. . .

  1. Bridget says:

    Glad you’re feeling better!

Leave a comment